Week 3: Sketching out my Research

After narrowing down our focuses a little bit more (I’m deciding to concentrate on sanitation and waste management), our class had the opportunity to sketch out our research to get a different perspective on our findings.

Translating readings into sketches puts a different perspective on the research I did, allowing me to explore different considerations or aspects I haven’t considered before.

IMG_7949

For example, through sketching I started exploring how water impacts waste and sanitation. Do the Maasai wash their hands? What are their latrines like compared to latrines within the village? Is privacy important to them?

Week 3 SketchesI also started branching out and exploring cooking and energy. Waste, if treated properly, can be repurposed into energy. It can be used as charcoal or fertilizer, or biogas. How does this impact the life of the Maasai? These will be areas I will be looking into next.

Next Steps:

Next, I want to explore the use of waste as a resource and different possible applications of waste, as well as the impact of water on waste and the cultural considerations surrounding designing a sanitation or waste product. I also want to reach out to Virginia to get a better understanding of the current sanitation and waste situation in Longido and among the Maasai, as well as better understand the Maasai’s cultural perception of sanitation.

Leave a comment